The Bradford community in BD7 have opened their arms and welcomed a new set of awards to be launched in their area in 2015. The Community Hearts Awards have been designed to meet the local people’s aspirations and will award the talented and diverse individuals in the area, in the hope of inspiring many others to follow suit.

Residents of the area felt there was a strong sense of community and they considered their neighbours as “Family members”, however they felt that there needed to be a stronger role model whom the youth could look up to, and keep the spirit going as the older generation does.

DSC_0540The new mascot for the City Ward Community Hearts Awards 2015 was introduced at Speedball on Saturday 15 November. The larger than life mascot enjoyed taking pictures with the children and the children also came up with different names for the mascot, such as; Mr Beaty, Mr Tickey, Harry and Dil-ly however a name is yet to be finalised.

Nadia Hussain, Leader of Extended Learning And Services said “The mascot is a fun and exciting way to let everyone know about the Community Hearts Awards and get them nominating, the mascot will be out at various events within the city ward to promote the opening of the nominations.”

Rio Grande, Mahmood’s, Janans, and Speedball have already agreed to sponsor the event with several additional local sponsors already in the pipeline. Fatima Patel, the editor of the Asian Sunday was quick to support the event as a BD7 resident herself and is supporting the panel with her invaluable skills and experience. The event has won funding from Community first, Bradford West Area Committee and Exceed who are keen to celebrate the investment in the ward and the hard work of volunteers.

Cllr Nazam who is a working member of the committee and the city ward Councillor praised the awards, “City ward has so much to offer with some of Bradford’s best known entrepreneurs, sports groups and voluntary organisations, these awards will really showcase the talents and diversity that exists here.”

Nominations will open later this month at and the awards will take place on Friday 20 March at the Rio Grande, with tickets being made available in the New Year.