By Ninder Kaur
Bolling Hall celebrated its 100 years since it opened its door to the public with a day of special events and activities on Sunday.
Bradford Council’s Museums and Galleries department celebrated this centenary with a number of events which took place to mark this special occasion. Visitors were welcomed by historical re-enactors from the periods the manor was a private house and had the chance to ‘meet’ characters who would have been around when it first opened to the public, during the First World War.
There were archery and gunnery demonstrations, infantry drill sessions run by medieval knights and talks from historic figures. There was also a funfair, living history demonstrations, light refreshments and costumed characters on site.
The Council-owned manor, in East Bowling, which was first mentioned in the Domesday Book, is one of the oldest buildings in Bradford and parts of it have stood since the 14th century.
The Bolling family owned the site from around 1316, until the late 15th century when it was taken over by the Tempests until 1649. The estate then had various owners and tenants until it was presented to Bradford Council (then Bradford Corporation) in 1912.
Three years later, on 22 September 1915, it was opened as a museum. The local press at the time reported that thousands of people turned up on this first day, as well as 250 invited guests.
Coun Susan Hinchcliffe, Executive Member for Education, Skills and Culture, said: “Bolling Hall plays a significant role in Bradford’s history, featuring in the Domesday Book and playing a role in the Civil War. We are proud to have it as one of our museums, which has given people an insight into the district’s rich history for a century.”