British Muslim Awards 2013 presented by Islamic Bank of Britain

On Tuesday night the first British Muslim Awards 2013 were held at the Sheridan Suite in Manchester. The event honoured the success and achievements of Britain’s Muslim individuals, groups and business people. The evening was one of recognition and celebration, which highlighted the significant role Muslims play in contributing to a better Great Britain.

Irfan Younis, Business Development Manager for the event organisers, Oceanic Consulting, said “We have some truly inspirational individuals who are proud to be Muslim and British and this is the first time their efforts and achievements are being recognised in such a public way. We would like to thank the public for the fantastic response we received. We have some truly inspiring winners and finalists and they should all be incredibly proud of themselves.”

The Awards were presented by Tasmina Ahmed Sheikh of Hamilton Burns Solicitors and co hosted by Entrepreneur and philanthropist Zulfi Hussain.

As well as recognising the achievements of Muslim men and women at the forefront of their communities and industries, the event also raised money for Mosaic – the largest multi-cause charitable enterprise in the United Kingdom. Founded by HRH the Prince of Wales in 2007, Mosaic’s mentoring programmes create opportunities for young people growing up in the most deprived communities.

The winners are:

Muslim in the Community

Muslim Scout Fellowship

Finalists: Zahid Hussain// Dr Hany El-Banna (The Humanitarian Forum)// Muslim Scout Fellowship// ZR Foundation// Akhtar Mansoor (Blackburn East Neighbourhood).

Arts & Culture Awareness

Aaqil Ahmed (BBC)

Finalists: Adil Ray (Writer/Actor Citizen Khan)// Aaqil Ahmed (of BBC)// Enam Ali (of British Curry Awards)// Imran Akram (of Brit Writers)// British Muslim Heritage Centre.

Young Achiever presented by Grafx Media

Mamuna Farooq, of DJM Solicitors

Finalists: Omar Ali (of Federation of Student Islamic Societies)// Imran Hakim (of i-teddy)// Rehana Azib (of 2 Temple Gardens)// Sajda Mughal (Jan Trust)// Mamuna Farooq  (DJM Solicitors).

Charity of the Year presented by Sheridan Suite

Islamic Relief

Finalists: Islamic Relief// Oxfam// Mosaic// Muslim Hands// Tell Mama.

Responsible Media of the Year sponsored by Oceanic Media Consulting

BBC Five Live

Finalists: The Independent// Islam Channel// Peace TV// Al Jazeera// BBC Five Live.

Religious Advocate of the Year sponsored by National Zakat Foundation

Sheikh Bilal Khan (Dome Advisory)

Finalists: Iman Abdul Jalil Sajid (of Brighton Islamic Missions)// Sheikh Bilal Khan (of Dome Advisory)// Iman Monawar Hussain (of Oxford Foundation)// Shaheen Kauser (of NHS Muslim Chaplin)// Ajmal Masroor (of Barefoot Institute)

Muslim Woman of the Year sponsored by the World Congress of Philanthropists

Haifa Fahoum Al-Kaylani (Arab International Women’s Forum

Finalists: Aliya Mohammed (of Race Equality First)// Shahien Taj (of Henna Foundation)// Shaista Gohir (of Muslim Woman’s Network)// Haifa Fahoum Al-Kaylani (of Arab International Women’s Forum)// Baroness Pola Uddin (Parliament).

Best at Sport presented by Saffron Events UK

Mo Farah (Double Gold Olympic Athlete)

Finalists: Rimla Akhtar (of Muslim Woman Sports Foundation)// Mo Farah (Double Gold Olympic Athlete)// Samir Nasri (Man City Footballer)// Muslim Woman Sports Foundation// Amir Khan (British Professional Boxer).

Services to Medicine sponsored by Accounts Management Service

Professor Farida Fortune

Finalists: Mohammed Ali Jawad// Professor Farida Fortune// Tipu Zahed Aziz// Sir Maqdi Habib Yacoub// Dr Mahdi Mabruk Jibani.

Services to Media sponsored by the World Congress of Philanthropists

Sarwar Ahmed

Finalists: Saira Khan// Razia Iqbal// Mazher Mahmood// Sarwar Ahmed// Andleeb Hanif

Services to Education presented by Mosaic

Bushra Nasir (Plashet School)

Finalists: Mona Siddiqui (Islamic Assistant Principle for Religious Studies)// Baroness Haleh Afshar (Professor & Life Peer in House of Loads)// Bushra Nasir (Plashet School)// Ahmed Choonara (Network for Black Professionals)// Hawa Bibi Laher (Spring Grove School).

Services to Science & Engineering presented by Mosaic

Professor Mohamed El-Gomati (University of York)

Finalists: Dr Javed Siddiqui (University of Manchester)// Professor Mohamed El-Gomati (University of York)// Abdulsalam Al-Mayahi// Professor Adel Sharif (University of Surrey)// Andy Miah (University of the West of Scotland).

Sevices to Law sponsored by Accounts Management Services

Nazir Afzal (CCPS)

Finalists: Imran Khan  (Imran Khan & Partners)// Aamir Anwar (Aamer Anwar & Co.)// Nazir Afzal (CCPS)// Naema Choudry (Eversheds)// Tahir Khan  (Barrister at Law at Broadway House Chambers).

Services to Creativity & Technology sponsored by Islamic Bank of Britain

Uzma Hassan (Producer, Infidels)

Finalists: Sir Hossein Yassaie (of Imagination Technologies)// Shaf Rasul (of Enet Distribution)// Adeem Younis (of Ajaz Ahmed (Founder AKQA)// Uzma Hassan (Producer, Infidels).

Civil Servant of the Year presented by Asian Image

DI Khizra Dhindsa (ACPO)

Finalists: Ishtiaq Hussain (Central Government)// Zaheer Ahmad (National Association of Muslim Police)// Ruhena Zoarder (Central Government)// DI Khizra Dhindsa (ACPO)// Admiral Amjad Mazhar Hussain (Royal Navy).

Services to Finance & Accounts sponsored by Euro Quality Lambs

Amin Mawji (Ernest & Young)

Finalists: Sharjill Ahmed (of Bank of London and Middle East)// Mahmoud Atalla (of HSBC)// Amin Mawji (of Ernest & Young)// Farmida Bi (of Norton Rose)// Siddiq Musa (of KPMG).

Politician of the Year sponsored by Oceanic Consulting

Anas Sarwar MP

Finalists: Baroness Sayeeda Warsi// Sadiq Khan, MP// Anas Sarwar, MP// Rushanara Ali, MP Yasmin Qureshi, MP.

Businesswoman of the Year sponsored by Tahira Foods

Farida Gibbs (Gibbs S3)

Finalists: Parveen Wassi (of S&A Foods)// Shazia Awan (of Peachy Pink)// Farida Gibbs (of Gibbs S3)// Nighat Awan (of Shere Group)// Farah Ramzan Golant (of All 3 Media).

Businessman of the Year sponsored by Tahira Foods

Aneel Musarrat (MCR Property)

Finalists: Iqbal Ahmed (Seamark)// Aneel Musarrat (MCR Property)// Tariq Usmani (Henley Homes)// Toukar Suleyman (Low Profile Holdings)// Akmal & Afzal Khushi (Trespass Clothing).

Entrepreneur of the Year sponsored by Islamic Bank of Britain

James Caan

Finalists: Azeem Ibrahim// James Caan// Shahid Sheikh// Farnaz Khan// Wasfi Kani.

Business of the Year sponsored Islamic Bank of Britain

99p Stores

Finalists: Euro Garages// Bestway Cash & Carry// 99p Stores// Manchester City Football Club// S&A Foods.

Spirit of Britain sponsored by Euro Quality Lambs

Team Khan

Finalists: Team Khan// Muslim Jewish Foundation Forum of Greater Manchester